Dawn Talks (Series), law school

Dawntalks about: Law School

I like to say that I wished taking up Law would be like nail polishing–fun and easy, but it was not.

The first attempt was taking up the almost impossible Law Admissions Exams. Then the next hard thing was overcoming my first oral exams. Then comes the hardest part of all: maintaining a reading habit. Reading piled cases and ugly books were just the appetizer and was not even the main dish. At some point, It occurred to me that the main goal was not really to learn the law, but to Survive Law School.

Some people say that taking up Law unmakes your being mortal and differentiates you from all the regular, usual, and normal people.

This somehow made me, most of us, feel good about ourselves but for some point, it made me feel privileged. As I walk my way everyday to school and learn new things, I wished all of us could learn the same thing! It’s quite important to know the law, ya know. Even Article 3 of our New Civil Code tells us that ignorance of the law excuses no one. I laughed at myself, the first time I read this provision because ever since, I really thought it’s nothing but a piece of a quote. So lame.

But anyway, exams came one after another that it seemed to me the months were moving so fast I don’t even have time to breathe! or at least change the color of my nails. I was filled with ‘to-do-lists’ that I forgot a lot of things–like doing groceries, having 8-hour sleeps, enjoying the walk. For the past months, I spent the days, running, sitting down whole day reading, and overdosing myself with coffee.

I tell you, I am not the best among the law students. I am not even the most diligent one. But probably, we all share the same kind of pressure and stress. Back in college, I recalled how often I complained to God about the so many requirements–research papers, reports, and the like. I remembered exactly how I thought I was facing life’s stressful point when I was working on my thesis. But being here changed that. It made me realize that life is not a destination but a continuous journey. Each step you make, creates the character you’ll need. There would always be harder challenges and more difficult decisions to make–but all these help build the person you need to become, once the time is right.

Just because you failed in some areas of your life doesnt give you the reason to stop. It, however, gives you the opportunity to learn from those mistakes so you won’t repeat them.

Speak up!

