Exciting Stories

My August 2, 2015

#53

Today Abert and I had a wonderful time at the church. Just the usual stuff for us– Sunday School (on the Poor Widow’s Mite); Sermon about moving on and keeping forward; Sunday Afternoon dates and study-together sessions; dinner at the Burger King; and study time at home.

Everything was–quite wonderful. Until 11:30 when people started to scream and chaos changed the atmosphere because of a huge fire behind our building. Every tenant in the building quickly wrapped everything they could bring and went out of the building except for me who was still standing there in disbelief. If I could still recall, I was a bit in denial and thought it could never reach our building until I realized everyone’s out of the building but me.. So I grabbed a back pack and grabbed my gadgets and chargers, wallet, Bibles, and a Civil Code with blue highlighter, then locked my unit and went out into safety.

After a while, the fire grew bigger and almost uncontrollable. The fire truck was not yet in the scene, everyone’s shouting, some cursing, some crying as they look at their houses taken by a huge orange flame. I can basically feel Β the heat across the building where I was; holding a codal book onΒ one hand and texting Abert, asking for help, on the other.

Sounds of siren were coming, everything was a blur, people were running to and from their burned houses– bringing appliances and stuff they were able to save that night.

All I could do at that moment was pray to God, for Him to spare the building, thinking all my law books and reviewers were still there. And when I saw a black smoke coming from the fourth floor, I knew something’s happening up there. It could be a flame, who knows. Then I prayed, if God would allow it, He will always be in control. Then thank God fire men were able to assess the area and everything else was, like they say, history.

Waking up to a new morning, eating my breakfast, I can’t help but recall how I happened to remain intact that night despite all the chaos around me. Thank God nobody died that night although a lot of people lost their houses–but what’s important is we’ll get through this. Lesson learned: Do not panic. If that means singin Amazing grace while waiting for the fire men and for abert to come, then so be it. Thank You Jesus.

II

Speak up!

